Clean Your Windows Vista Installation Before Installing

If you are one of those people who like to squeeze every bit out of your operating system and computer, you probably have already heard of vLite, but, if not, here is a handy little tool, especially if you need to install it on multiple machines. From the article at Information Week:

vLite allows users to preselect numerous Vista features for automatic removal prior to installing the OS on their personal computers. Among them: Windows Media Player, Windows Photo Viewer, MSN Installer, Wallpapers, SlideShow, Windows Mail and other utilities.

“It’s not just about hard disk space. There is also an increase in OS responsiveness and you don’t have to tolerate all kinds of things you don’t use,” said Nuhagic, in an e-mail to InformationWeek explaining why he launched the project.

vLite, however, isn’t for the technically timid. The software warns that the changes it imposes on Vista are “permanent, so be sure in your choice.”
Software Tool Strips Windows Vista To Bare Bones

As always, read the instructions to make sure you are going about it in the recommended way, to minimize problems, and if you do have problems, their forums are located here, and they appear to be very active. If I get a chance, I will try it on my next install of Windows Vista to see if I can indeed tell a speed difference.

From their about page:

Main features are:

  • hotfix, language pack and driver integration
  • component removal
  • unattended setup
  • tweaks
  • split/merge Vista installation CDs
  • create ISO and burn bootable CD/DVD

Windows Vista from Microsoft takes a lot of resources, we all know that. vLite provides you with an easy removal of the unwanted components in order to make Vista run faster and to your liking.

This tool doesn’t use any kind of hacking, all files and registry entries are protected as they would be if you install the unedited version only with the changes you select.

It configures the installation directly before the installation, meaning you’ll have to remake the ISO and reinstall it. This method is much cleaner, not to mention easier and more logical than doing it after installation on every reinstall.