How to Turn On and Turn Off System Restore in Windows XP (Q310405)
This article explains how to turn on and turn off System Restore in Windows XP. CAUTION : When you turn off System Restore, all existing restore points are removed, and you are no longer able to track or undo changes to your computer. To continue to use System Restore to restore your computer to a previous state, do not turn off System Restore.
System Restore is the feature that allows a computer system to be “rolled back”, or restored, to a point in time before certain events took place, for example, prior to specific software or hardware installations. System Restore monitors changes to the system and some application files, and automatically creates restore points. You can also create your own restore points at any time.
In Windows XP, System Restore is enabled by default. It is a powerful tool, which in most cases, should not be turned off.
Click here for the kb article from Microsoft.